Nobel Dreams – Obama’s Fortune

From the Will of Albert Nobel. His Will be Done.
By now we have all heard about President Obama being awarded the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize. And whether you believe he was the appropriate nomination or not is for you to judge. Whether Alfred Nobel would agree who could tell. Perhaps the Presidents stance as a pacifist is his largest asset in his nomination.

The will of Albert Nobel designated the criteria for the Peace Prize and allocated one part of his wealth to the cause of Peace. It read as follows ”one part to the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

If you look at the past recipients of the award you see a list of who’s who and who’s that? Presidents, national leaders, distinguish nominations and international groups of esteem all led their names to this honor. The award has been given 96 times to individuals and 23 times to organizations. See the list of all the winners of the Nobel Peace Prize.

Norwegian Rationale…Why the President?
I have my personal opinions on how the Norwegian committee selects their recipients…their criteria and their rationale. As you may already know the Norwegians not the Swiss were granted the honor of selecting the peace nomination by Mr. Nobel “I, the undersigned, Alfred Bernhard Nobel, do hereby, after mature deliberation, declare the following to be my last Will and Testament with respect to such property as may be left by me at the time of my death…that for champions of peace by a committee of five persons to be elected by the Norwegian Storting. It is my express wish that in awarding the prizes no consideration be given to the nationality of the candidates, but that the most worthy shall receive the prize, whether he be Scandinavian or not.”

What Were They Thinking?
Even though I support the President and his initiatives to rid the world of nuclear weapons I find it hard to justify awarding such an honor to an individual who represents a country that is at war. Not only at war…but also in two wars. Now grant it the President inherited this legacy…understood. But he is also Commander and Chief to a nation that supports nuclear weapons and houses some of the greatest quantities of this technology. No one doubts his vision of HOPE…he has captured the hearts of the world with this simple but poignant message. But I believe that he is somewhat embarrassed by the award. Even the President was humbled and surprised by his selection.

obama-thoughtful-reut-60

Hope Moves People

Perhaps after the President moves us out of war…which I do not predict will occur in his tenure then he would be a logical winner of the Nobel Peace Prize. I feel that the committee confused hope as a result. Yes…hope is a movement a way of thinking and powerful non-the-less…but words and rhetoric have not proven itself as of yet. I pray it does sooner then later.

Why Not?
So if not the President…then who you may be asking. Perhaps one of the leaders of nations that is at peace…or one of the many social justice organizations throughout the world…or better yet a religious leader. I could give names of people worth this honor who have given everything of themselves and their world to accomplish peace. We all know individuals in our small circles of life that would carry this flag.

King For A Day
If I were king for a day…I’d ask my friends in Norway to consider the following candidates. Disagree if you will…I invite your comments. Now remember the award is for those who have achieved outstanding achievements in peace.

I Am The Greatest

I would have to throw in a vote for Muhammad Ali. What a fighter? Are you nuts Cloonan? I think not. Here is a man that is known throughout the world. A man who turned his back on the US government during the Vietnam War and chose to let his religious belief guide his decision. Controversial? Absolutely. But think about it. Here is a man that has moved millions and inspired tens of millions. Remember Zaire? Well you should. A nation of the poor, abused and neglected by a ruthless dictator found honor, hope, pride and a reason to succeed following Ali and his less then popular antics. Not to mention his iconic world image and his continued support around the world for those disadvantaged and those in need. Remember the Atlanta Olympics…Ali lighting the torch? It moved many. Why? Because of what he stands for and who he is.

Pick an Entertainer.
What are you serious? Yes…I am. There are many who work effortlessly today to make a difference. Look to Audrey Hepburn. Bono. Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie. Sting. John Lennon. They all have put their lives and stardom to use to move social causes and support others larger then themselves. Disagree with me if you will…but I contend they are just as worthy as the President.

The King Of Peace
Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi. “The pre-eminent political and spiritual leader of India during the Indian independence movement. He was the pioneer of satyagraha—resistance to tyranny through mass civil disobedience, firmly founded upon ahimsa or total non-violence—which led India to independence and inspired movements for civil rights and freedom across the world.”

I mean really it’s Gandhi…give the guy the node every year for the award. People what on earth were you thinking…the man has never won the nomination. Now that is absurd.

10,000,000 SEK’s Wahoooeee! Obama’s Fortune
Not only does the President have good fortune…but he actually is rewarded with fortune. So… I took out my trusty iPod and plugged in 10 million Swedish Krona and thumbed into my currency converter to discover that the President will receive roughly over 1.4 Million US dollars for the award. What could this money do for an organization…hmmm not much really. For an individual? Slightly more of course. For the President…he certainly won’t need it…he’ll be fine after his tenure with books and speaking tours.

So does he keep the money? I suspect he won’t. It would make for great movement to his cause if he donates it to a charity supporting his beliefs; not to mention the political value he’d gain. I know this…if you drop 1.4 million to a researcher of a major healthcare provider you could without a doubt shorten the life cycle of a disease by years. Some things in life are worth more then cash. But only time will tell.

It’s Up to You
So my friends…I ask you…if not President Obama…then who would you nominate?

About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Campaign Strategies, Innovation, Obama, Thought Leadership, World Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nobel Dreams – Obama’s Fortune

  1. Why not! President Obama didn’t start these wars. They were already ongoing when he took office. Thanks to George Bush and his Administration. Who’s to say that President Obama will not be the President to end these wars. Maybe he’s won the Nobel Peace Prize for a future that has not yet come into being. Or are you just a little jealous it wasn’t you. After all you had no problem ending up worrying about what He may do with the money. Right!

  2. Cloonan says:

    Mr. Harris…I appreciate the comment. Thanks for the read.

    With all due respect…I’m not sure you read my blog clearly…I think you’ll find I supported your points nearly to a T 🙂

    I wrote…

    “Even though I support the President and his initiatives to rid the world of nuclear weapons I find it hard to justify awarding such an honor to an individual who represents a country that is at war. Not only at war…but also in two wars.

    Now grant it the President inherited this legacy…understood. But he is also Commander and Chief to a nation that supports nuclear weapons and houses some of the greatest quantities of this technology.

    No one doubts his vision of HOPE…he has captured the hearts of the world with this simple but poignant message. But I believe that he is somewhat embarrassed by the award. Even the President was humbled and surprised by his selection”

    If anyone can pull us out of this mess (two wars) I pray it is the President.

    And as far as the money…I doubt the President cares about it at all. I think a man of his honor will end up donating it to a cause of his choice…if so more power to him.

    Peace
    TC

Leave a Reply

