Good TV, Better TV, Don’t look for it from DIRECTV

DIRECTly Shameful
It has become clear to me that shame in advertising has no home. Or maybe shameful has found a home with DIRECTV. Good TV, Better TV…I don’t think so.

I just witnessed the latest commercial from DIRECTV. If you haven’t seen it yet you’ll certainly be hearing about it sooner than later. The new commercial which aired during the NLCS Playoff game on TBS features actors David Spade and the late great comedian Chris Farley re-enacting the famous scene “fat guy in a little coat”. This of course is one of the most memorable scenes in the movie ‘Tommy Boy’ and perhaps one of Farley’s best comic expressions and memories he has left for endearing fans. Mr. Farley passed away a mere 12 years ago…he deserves more respect then this to be certain.

Come on DIRECTV are you kidding me? Is your creative team that lame that they have to resort to this…do you have so little respect for Farley…his family…and his fans to commercialize this memory.

And David Spade are things that bad that you have to sell yourself…and that of a good friend for the little cash this commercial gives you?

DIRECTV you need to fire your agency of record…and whoever is the ECD of record it’s time for you to consider a new career. Ever think about installing DIRECTV dishes?

DIRECTV you can do better. This is a perfect example of creative gone bad.

(I refuse to show the commercial…it just would reinforce the efforts of a company that I no longer care to support.)

About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Advertising, Campaign Strategies, Creativity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good TV, Better TV, Don’t look for it from DIRECTV

  1. Nate says:

    I completely agree. There’s no way a company should be allowed to have someone posthumously endorse a product.

    I’m also shocked that David Spade would do this. It’s just shameful.

  2. Cloonan says:

    Thanks Nate. I appreciate the read…and especially the comment. It always amazes me the audacity of our industry.

  3. haydesigner says:

    Of all the things to be outraged over… this ranks pretty darn low on the list. There are a lot of living people that deserve your outrage over an apparent lack of ‘respect’ more than someone who is dead. Somehow, I don’t think they care too much anymore.

  4. Cloonan says:

    Actors and celebrities who are no longer with us still have their families and they deserve the respect of society…if their families support this type of advertising and they receive monetary earning to a family estate…then it is fine.

    But you missed out on one of my key points…the creative team who produced this proved to the audience that they resorted to something that has been overdone in today’s major campaigns…show us something new!

    Be creative!

    What you refer to as me being ‘outraged over’ is a bit overstated wouldn’t you agree? I contend you misinterperted outrage…for the agency being lazy. In other words they showed little to no creativity in their concept. Which tends to be a patten by many…been there done that approach.

  5. Brien Lee says:

    According to Spade, the family signed off on this as a way to keep his memory alive. Okay…

    But this isn’t just any dead celebrity– John Wayne, or Fred Astaire, both of whom have been digitally exhumed in the past– it’s a celebrity whose death was tragic and essentially self-inflicted. The result of viewing the commercial is a bad vibe.

    I otherwise have liked the series– they’ve pulled off nice amalgams and recreations of iconic movie scenes and surprised us with step out of the role, break the fourth wall commentary from the principal.

    But here the star–even if he isn’t the one addressing the audience– is a tragic figure. Family permission or not, I don’t think it’s successful advertising.

  6. Cloonan says:

    Let me start by saying thank you…you are spot on. Exactly the point I was driving home.

    And yes…I too agree the overall campaign has merit…just not that specific spot.

    And as you so eloquently pointed out…the tragic figure is why I felt it was not successful advertising and showed a lack of respect, lack of a creative execution of a well vetted concept and quite frankly poor judgement.

Leave a Reply

