Sting Shivers with Starbucks

Winter Chill
I just purchased Sting’s new CD titled “If On a Winter’s Night… ” while visiting Starbucks. Let me start by saying I am probably one of Sting’s biggest fans so this review ends in an atypical result. As Sting proclaims this is not a Christmas record rather a Winter Season record that is worth noting…so if you were expecting Christmas songs you won’t find them here.

stingwinter

Haunting Attempt
There are many lullabies played filled with ancient echoes of Celtic and folk style music, which is Stings way of reflecting on the rhythms of his winter past. But the songs carry many odd tensions…almost as if Sting were using a looking glass reflecting back to his childhood listening to Grimmes fairy tales and adding in child’s ghostly fears within the notes. Now don’t get me wrong the execution is solid but it’s simply not enjoyable. Maybe if you were sitting in a church or the setting was different you may be able to enjoy a couple of the songs.

The bottom line is it is not warm…not inspiring…and at times awkward.

Starbuck Shivers
You can certainly appreciate the music but as a whole the album is…dare I say boring. All in all it was a huge disappointment. I don’t recommend it. Save your $12.95 and buy only a single or two if you like a specific tune. ‘Gabriel’s Messages’ and ‘The Hounds of Winter’…a couple of wonderful Sting tunes of earlier days still sound great.

One Star
At best I’d have to give this one star out of four. Perhaps it will sound better when the snow is falling…most winter CD’s usually do…but until that happens this baby will be shelved. Sorry Sting…it is what it is…over thought and strange. Starbucks don’t you listen to these things before you release them in your stores?

About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Creativity, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sting Shivers with Starbucks

  1. Cloonan says:

    Ok…the holidays are here…the snow is on the ground…so I decided to take another listen. Guess what…my review still stands. Sorry Sting.

Leave a Reply

