Same As It Ever Was

Today…A Day Just Like Any Other Day...
Climate change continues to be in question resolving at glacier speed. Unemployment continues to grow. Wall Street is in no hurry to show improvement. Troop plans in Afghanistan are rising. We now think there is water on the Moon. Retail sales remain less then impressive. Tiger Woods is exposed. Healthcare reform…is impossible to agree on. College football coaches are losing their jobs but still walk away with huge payrolls. Life goes on with its peaks and valleys.

My Story
My bills keep increasing. Like most people my debt owns me. My taxes are a joke. My son’s college tuition is ridiculously high. My other son is busy being a teenager. The two little ones are figuring out the English language. My wife is looking for a job. All three of my toilets run. My dog has an eye infection. My heater in my car isn’t working…and it’s 27 degrees outside.

I Am Lucky.
Lucky? Cloonan are you nuts? I’m not nuts; I am blessed. I have my health, I have a job, and I keep food on the table. I have a decent roof over my head. And I have people who love me. (Ok so I eat Advil and Tums like M&M’s…so what). I conclude that I am better then some and not as good as others. So what’s my point?

The Letters of Keats
I look at my parents and their parents before them. I look at the politics and the world we live. There is still great injustice, there are still monumental global power struggles, and there are still horrific health, shelter and starvation issues throughout this world. Evil is ramped and has been since the beginning of human nature. Detroit still sucks, Cleveland will never win anything and Ohio will continue to struggle for at least the next 15 years.

On the same token a kiss is still a kiss, comedy is funny or dark; love is feared, embraced, shared, jealous, heavenly or painful; sports are still exciting, frustrating, exhilarating or tearful. My point is this…life is what we chose to focus on and worry about. John Keats may have said it best…nothing ever becomes real till it is experienced. You can go through a day like today just like any other day and live it, watch it pass by, embrace it, forget it, ignore it, push it to it’s extreme, love it and remember it.

Select the days that make you grow…learn from them…and appreciate that you will wake up tomorrow to experience another.

Complexity can be so simple.

About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Health Care, World Issues and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

