Oscar Wilde – The One and Only

At the dawn of St. Patrick’s Day I remind you of the late great Oscar Wilde…common sense never knew it had such a stanch adversary…I thought I’d share with you a few of my favorites

Our ambition should be to rule ourselves, the true kingdom for each one of us; and true progress is to know more, and be more, and to do more.

A little sincerity is a dangerous thing, and a great deal of it is absolutely fatal.

Always forgive your enemies – nothing annoys them so much.

Do you really think it is weakness that yields to temptation? I tell you that there are terrible temptations which it requires strength, strength and courage to yield to.

Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

Experience is one thing you can’t get for nothing.

I am not young enough to know everything.

Keep love in your heart. A life without it is like a sunless garden when the flowers are dead.

I have nothing to declare except my genuis.

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about.

There are only two tragedies in life: one is not getting what one wants, and the other is getting it.

I am so clever that sometimes I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying.

If one could only teach the English how to talk, and the Irish how to listen, society here would be quite civilized

I am the only person in the world I should like to know thoroughly.

And I bid you goodbye with my all-time favorite...

A cynic is a man who knows the price of everything but the value of nothing.

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day from an offspring of an irish immigrant two times removed. From mine to yours…

Seo sláinte an tséitéara, an ghadaí, an trodaí, agus an óltóra!
Má dhéanann tu séitéireacht, go ndéana tú séitéireacht ar an mbás,
Má ghoideann tú, go ngoide tú croí mná;
Má throideann tú, go dtroide tú i leith do bhráthar,
Agus má ólann tú, go n-óla tú liom féin.

For the Gaelic impaired

If you cheat, may you cheat death.
If you steal, may you steal a woman’s heart.
If you fight, may you fight for a brother.
And if you drink, may you drink with me.


About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

