I’ll Be Home For Christmas – Classic Holiday Commercial

Simply Classic
There are very few commercials that evoke a feeling of home for me…not only this time of year…but anytime for that matter. Holidays fill us all with a waterfall of emotions and memories. The brilliance of this spot is its heart filled simplicity reminiscent of a Currier and Ives greeting card.

I remember when I first saw this spot…it feels as though it was yesterday. Memories of the country home in which I lived all of my childhood. The mountains of pure white snow that buried our roads…the sleigh rides…the horses we owned…the lights on our two hundred year home…the historic barn that sat in our yard…and the wreath that welcomed guests upon our door. All dear symbols to me from a time that is nearly a forgotten memory.

Maybe advertising agencies were wiser then…they had the where with all to set the product aside. They understood that if you return to memories or experiences that you could permanently plant an impression.

Unbelievably this was a beer commercial which had literally nothing to do with beer….nothing other then a simple Christmas wish. But as a child who didn’t care about beer..this was the most welcomed commercial of the season my eyes had seen.

Unfortunately, the commercial spot no longer airs but its pure simplicity was a brilliant heartfelt Christmas card greeting that many of us associate with simpler times.

“Miller Holiday Greetings”
The commercial filmed and aired for the first time in 1977 was produced and directed by Backer and Spielvogel. It won a gold medal from the Art Directors Club of New York as the best 60-second commercial in 1977. The spot later aired in 1981 as noted by the copyright.

I’m not certain of the origin of inspiration for the Creative Director…but it was pure Americana. Perhaps the executives of Backer and Spielvogel owned country property in Connecticut or up state New York. Or maybe they pulled an idea or two from the printmaking firm of Currier & Ives which was famous for producing some of the most iconic and popular American art of the 19th century. The company, headed by Nathaniel Currier (1813-1888) and James Merritt Ives (1824-1895), specialized in publishing hand colored lithographic prints.

The American Homestead Winter print (1869) was part of the popular “American Homestead” series, that also included scenes produced from the spring, summer, and autumn.

Classic Re-make
If I were the ad executives at Miller Brewing Company…now a MillerCoors Brewing Company…I’d dig into my box of old Christmas cards from years gone by and re-produce a greeting that many of us would love to see again.

Happy Holidays to you and yours.

About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Advertising, brand, Campaign Strategies, Creativity, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

