Top 10 Brad Pitt Movies – Moneyball Preview

I’ve always been a fan of Brad Pitt…I mean come on he was smart enough to marry Angelina Jolie. Seriously…besides that move I have respected him for his work ethic and his memorable moments he has given us on the big screen. There’s a point in some actors careers where you actually see them change…we saw it with De Niro, Pacino, Redford, Peck, Stewart and Wayne. Maybe even Clooney.

I’m No Brad Pitt or Am I?
As Pitt builds his career you come to realize and appreciate how the actor has grown. I don’t know Pitt as a person, but I can relate to him as a father and a man in his forties…we are two years apart and most likely worlds apart. But we both know what it feels like to be in our forties with children. I have to attribute his growth to the many peaks and valleys his life has offered him…thru breakups, marriage and having kids…it changes a man. This I know. He’s had many life’s as have I. And I believe you see it reflected in his craft.

After sitting through ‘Moneyball’ last night and a ‘Tree of Life’ this spring I sense that we may being seeing a small reflection of Pitts actual life through the eyes of his characters. You see the maturity in his expressions. You see the complexities not uncommon to a man his age who has had to deal with all the issues of life which many of us have encountered. You would suspect that his philanthropic efforts and family experiences that he and his wife have taken on has added to the subtle nuances that allow you and I to get a closer look at Pitt.

Like any artist whether they write, paint or act their personal experiences are often exposed through their work. It is what makes us…us. It’s likely that you may see Pitt nominated for two Academy Awards this year, one for his portrayal of Billy Beane in ‘Moneyball’ and the other for his gritty quiet-man performance of the father in ‘Tree of Life’.

On the Money
You have to appreciate someone who puts it all out there for all to see. This is what a great artist does…willingly or unwillingly. This is something I don’t see with say a…Tom Cruise…who parallels a similar timeline in his career. Pitt allows us to see into the man he has become in his new release, ‘Moneyball’ which is based on the true story of Billy Beane, the general manager of the Oakland A’s as they try to turn major league baseball upside down and break through the traditional methods baseball has used since its inception to build and tear down rosters to create championship teams without breaking the bank. He joins Yale grad Peter Brand (Jonah Hill) to take on the conventional establishment and create a new business model for winning.

It’s design thinking taking a new look at a traditional approach to create big change. It produces a winner…and the movie is a winner. And Pitt wins you over as the leading man who also is the producer of the film. Once again great acting, great directing and a smart script always beat special effects and over-zealous editing. One word of advice…don’t watch the preview of the film before you go see it. Many of the refreshing one-liners and magic moments of the movie are let out of the bag in the preview. Go see it. It’s worth the ticket.

Top 10 Brad Pitt Movies
Here are my Top 10 Favorite Brad Pitt Films…in no particular order.

1. The Tree of Life – With little to no speaking, Pitt’s performance is captivating as the father of a family who simply tries to manage through this thing called life.

2. Ocean 11, 12, 13 Rusty is cool with all the right lines and calculated moves. The type of role that Pitt fans love.

3. Burn After Reading -Even though he only played a small role in this Coen brothers film he steals each scene as the quirky not-so bright physical trainer.

4. Moneyball – Expect an Oscar nomination for Pitt

5. Fight Club – Perhaps one of his most incredible roles – the alter ego kick arse take no prisons Pitt.

6. Snatch – Irish tough and ready to rumble. Love this role.

7. Inglorious Bastards – Brilliant…he hands down steals the movie

8. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford – This is one of those films that allows you to see Pitts serious desire to separate himself from his movie star looks and own a character

9. Mr. & Mrs. Smith I know…I know what you’re thinking…but you have to admit it’s fun and filled with action. Pitt and Jolie’s charisma bleeds off the screen.

10. A River Runs Through It – Early indications that this kid was going to be a big star.

(Photo Credits – Sony Pictures)

About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Movies, Pop Culture, Top 10 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 10 Brad Pitt Movies – Moneyball Preview

  1. ghazali134 says:

    I believe you have not watched the curious case of Benjamin buttons because if u did, it would have taken a place up on your list.

    • Cloonan says:

      Actually…I have seen it. I wanted to love that movie but it just didn’t do it for me. I think that was one film where the makeup took over the actor instead of the actor breaking past the makeup. With that said I’ve only seen it once so maybe I’ll like it better if I see it again 🙂

  2. I always think his turn in Thelma & Louise was a sure indicator that he was not just hot as hell but a brilliant actor with a knack for picking cracking roles.

    I have to disagree about Tree of Life being enjoyable though. It left me trying to keep my eyes open.

  3. Cloonan says:

    I never did see Thelma & Louise…I need to check it out. I agree with you on the Tree of Life being as slow as some lives 🙂 But I thought Pitt was great. I would have actually liked to see him more. And yeah if I were a woman I’d say he was hot as hell too…at least I have Angelina to look at…thanks for dropping me a line…cheers

Leave a Reply

