Funny Words and Phrases

There are many words in the kings english that are quite simply funny…either funny to say or funny to hear. They’re just funny.

Here are a few that no matter when I hear them I smile…and when I hear someone say them I smile. Dare I say giggle like a six year old at times. (Juvenile words not included … pharmaceutical commercial phrases not included…plantes not included…because…well they’re funny).

And of course…you can never underestimate the person who delivers the word or phrase…the individual style or tone adds so much value to the experience. Movie quotes or phrases don’t count…that’s another blog. I’m certain there are a thousand more that I’ve forgotten so throw a few back at me if you have a number of favorites.

Evidently

Janky

Indubitably

You betcha (Fargo…der now)

Discombobulate

Periwinkle

What not (an over used midwest phrase)

Hullabaloo

Shite (as a brit would say it)

Naked (say it like a hick and you’ll get it)

Behooves

Paradiddle (get out the drum sticks)

Why I outta…

Hubbub

Hogwash

Any swear word said out loud by a woman over the age of 80

Cornucopia

Fisticuffs

Rumpus (Actually…Most words spoken in Irish)

Bodacious

Rudimentary

Bitch-en

And long string combination of curse words amongst the right friends

Cupola

Pantywaist (thanks Grandpa)

I’m sure I forgot a few hundred of my favorites…so I’ll have to add them when I think of more. What are some of yours?

About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Cloonan Thinking, Creativity, Humanity, Pop Culture, Top 10 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

