10,000 Reasons Why Romney is Out Of Touch

I’ve held off passing judgment on the current candidates for President, but after watching Mitt Romney in last nights debate I am certain he will not get my vote.

Here is part of the exchange that took place.

PERRY: Well, I’m listening to you, Mitt, and I’m hearing you say all the right things. But I read your first book, and it said in there that your mandate in Massachusetts, which should be the model for the country — and I know it came out of the reprint of the book, but, you know, I’m just saying, you were for individual mandates, my friend.

ROMNEY: You know what, you’ve raised that before, Rick. And you’re simply wrong.

PERRY: It was true then…

ROMNEY: No, no…

PERRY: And it’s true now.

ROMNEY: Rick, I’ll tell you what…

(ROMNEY- extends his hand out to Perry as if to force a handshake like an eight year old child who can never be wrong about anything)

ROMNEY: … 10,000 bucks? $10,000 bet?

PERRY: I’m not in the betting business…

ROMNEY: Oh, okay.

To steal a few lines from Eminem….Mitt…you better lose yourself in the music, the moment. You own it, you better never let it go. You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow. This opportunity comes once in a lifetime yo

Here’s the problem.

1. On a world stage he showed us his true ability to reason when under pressure. He resorted to the actions of a spoiled child; one who is not use to ever being wrong or told he is wrong. Imagine if this were a conversation that presented a real threat to the country and he had to make a dramatic decision for this nation in a heated moment. Or if he was in a tense discussion with another world leader; I shutter to imagine how easily he could lose his composure.  Or the stupidity he may show representing this nation. A wise man holds his ground…listens…thinks in a frank, direct, firm and controlled manner. He doesn’t resort to the ridiculous antics Mitt Romney displayed.

2. The Bet. Seriously a bet? I don’t even know where to begin blasting the stupidity of that action.

3. The most telling reason I couldn’t ever consider punching that little chad in the ballot is that Romney is completely out of touch. He has no way to really understand or connect with the pains of all who have struggled financially in this economy. While many of our friends and family struggle in literally paying the rent Romney is cavalier as he throws out a value of 10,000 dollars which I can only imagine he equates to the value of a dollar.

You could argue that we all make mistakes and blurt out comments we’d rather not have spoken. But this particular comment goes deeper to what I think is a key character flaw in how Romney really has no clue how to relate to those who struggle economically.

I don’t expect a man like Romney to have an understanding of how most of us earn a living. But I do think someone with his background would be wise enough not to be so damn arrogant. If you don’t have the skills and the heart to be sympathetic to the plight of those you will serve nor the common sense on how to win a debate you certainly don’t have what it takes to run this country. As I read his campaign strategists comments about ‘the bet’ I see that the arrogance runs deep within his handlers. They are all completely out of touch.

As the candidates begin to fall Cain last week, Romney sliding this week I ask you who can lead this nation?

The question is do any of the candidates including President Obama have a clue how to connect to the people of this country? I know the answer.  Let’s just hope that a dark horse appears soon or we will be in for four more years of either a republican or democratic president who has no clue what the average citizen needs.

You want to see the real america Mr. Romney…this is the REAL AMERICA…get use to it.

“Lose Yourself” EMINEM

Look, if you had one shot, or one opportunity
To seize everything you ever wanted in one moment
Would you capture it or just let it slip?
YoHis palms are sweaty, knees weak, arms are heavy
There’s vomit on his sweater already, mom’s spaghetti
He’s nervous, but on the surface he looks calm and ready to drop bombs,
but he keeps on forgetting what he wrote down,
the whole crowd goes so loud
He opens his mouth, but the words won’t come out
He’s choking how, everybody’s joking now
The clock’s run out, time’s up over, bloah!
Snap back to reality, Oh there goes gravity
Oh, there goes Rabbit, he choked
He’s so mad, but he won’t give up that
Easy, no
He won’t have it , he knows his whole back’s to these ropes
It don’t matter, he’s dope
He knows that, but he’s broke
He’s so stagnant that he knows
When he goes back to his mobile home, that’s when it’s
Back to the lab again, yo
This whole rhapsody
He better go capture this moment and hope it don’t pass him[Hook:]
You better lose yourself in the music, the moment
You own it, you better never let it go
You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow
This opportunity comes once in a lifetime yo
(You better)

The soul’s escaping, through this hole that is gaping
This world is mine for the taking
Make me king, as we move toward a new world order
A normal life is boring, but superstardom’s close to post mortem
It only grows harder, only grows hotter
He blows us all over these hoes is all on him
Coast to coast shows, he’s known as the globetrotter
Lonely roads, God only knows
He’s grown farther from home, he’s no father
He goes home and barely knows his own daughter
But hold your nose ’cause here goes the cold water
His hoes don’t want him no more, he’s cold product
They moved on to the next schmoe who flows
He nose dove and sold nada
So the soap opera is told and unfolds
I suppose it’s old partner but the beat goes on
Da da dum da dum da da

[Hook]

You better lose yourself in the music, the moment
You own it, you better never let it go
You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow
This opportunity comes once in a lifetime yo
(You better)
About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Campaign Strategies, Cloonan Thinking, Humanity, Obama, Politics, World Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10,000 Reasons Why Romney is Out Of Touch

  1. Angela says:

    Paging Jesse…please report to DC at once

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Yeah, I agree the bet was childish and the amount ridiculous (doesn’t everyone have $10,000 to wager on a silly bet?)

    I’m not seeing anyone I have confidence in to lead the country. I hope we get more choices….

  3. Cloonan says:

    I was hoping someone could convince Colin Powell to throw his hat in the ring…but I doubt that this will happen…unfortunately. I think he could walk away with the Presidency with little effort; we need someone with his leadership skills at this time in our history.

    • jannatwrites says:

      Funny you should mention Colin Powell…my best friend has written him in for the last 2 presidential elections, and I suspect she will do the same this year. Wouldn’t that be funny if he became President that way?

Leave a Reply

