Trauma Comes in Many Forms of Life

I stumbled on this clip from TED this morning. It’s a reflection on one man’s encounter in life that was not by choice.

As a Healthcare professional I was reminded at the amazing skills surgeons bring unselfishly to all of our lives. Ironically, much of this gift gets lost in today’s social and economic distractions such as healthcare reform, politics, lawsuits, misguided anger and hurt.

Trauma Sucks – The Real World of Healthcare

There’s no other way to describe it. Trauma is a scary thing…a very real and scary thing. If you’ve ever encountered it and had to put yourself in the hands of total strangers to survive you know what I’m talking about. In my role I meet and speak to physicians and skilled surgeons on a daily basis. I pass them in the hallways as I walk to meetings. I share ideas with them as we discuss tactics and budgets. I listen to their thoughts and ideas on how to bring care to their patients.

In many cases the physician I’m working with in that meeting may have just left a five-hour surgery holding the heart of a 30-year-old mother in his hands. He may have lost her…he may have saved her.

On many a day I bump into families as I walk to the cafeteria for a cup of coffee. I ride elevators with people and point them in the right direction as they seek a location.

The family in the elevator may have just left the doctor with the news that their 20-year-old son has a rare form or cancer. There is not a day that goes by when you walk through a hospital that you may come across someone in tears or with a smile of great relief.

This is the real world of Healthcare. It happens everyday in this country and around the world. A reality that most ignore or don’t care to remember. Unless of course they need it or are throw involuntarily into it. This is what politicians and journalist often forget as they blast a hospital or a health system to gain votes or sell newspapers.

Trauma has a lot of ugly faces. We’re all very lucky that physicians and surgeons and healthcare professionals ignore these ugly faces and push past these distractions to save the lives of people thrown at their doorstep.

This is humanity.

About Cloonan

Great Work Inspires Great People I’m always excited to see great peoples work. To hear and learn about others and share in their experiences in life, design and business. Who knows maybe someday I might learn something from you and you may read something of interest from me. Cloonan. Thinking Out Loud The opinions and views written in my blog are my personal views and insights…they do not in any way reflect or represent the views of my employer. The goal and spirit of social media is to increase communities, build relationships, share and put your personal perspective on life’s content. That is the purpose of my blog. I welcome all comments positive or negative to my own. Life is about sharing…it is about respect…it is about consideration…sometimes good and sometimes bad. Slainte’
This entry was posted in Cloonan Thinking, Health Care, Humanity, Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

